Ministry Appointments to the Establishment Board of Trustees

Aranui Community School Christchurch

On 28 February 2014 the Minister of Education announced the establishment of a year one to thirteen school to provide education to children and young people in east Christchurch as part of the Aranui Community Campus.

The school will be built on the current Aranui High School site and will open at the start of term one in 2017. The school will initially be governed by an establishment board of trustees made up of five appointed members.

Registrations of interest were sought in March 2014 for the Establishment Board of Trustees (EBoT) and the following have been appointed.

- Cheryl Doig
- Haneta Pierce
- Matt Walters
- Pauline Luafutu-Simpson
- Tony Fakahau

Te Tāhuhu o te Mātauranga

The EBoT will develop the new school's charter, and influence school design. It will also appoint the principal and staff and work with the Aranui Community Leadership Group and the school community to further develop the community's vision for the school and the campus.

The EBoT will govern the school through to the first board election, which is held about six months after the school becomes operational.



New Zealand Government