Ministry Appointments to the Establishment Board of Trustees

West Rolleston Primary School Rolleston Secondary School Christchurch

On 03 March 2014 the Minister of Education announced the establishment of two new schools in Rolleston.

The new primary school will open in 2016 and the new secondary school will open the following year. Each school will initially be governed by an establishment board of trustees made up of the following appointed members.

Registrations of interest were sought in March 2014 for the Establishment Board of Trustees (EBoT) and the following have been appointed.

West Rolleston Primary School

- Rebecca Scott
- Simon McDermott
- Sherryll Wilson
- Kate Duncan

Rolleston Secondary School

- Jackie Freeman
- Greg Knowles
- Lynley Shaw
- Darren Sudlow
- Neil Voyce

The role of the EBoT is to work with the community to develop a vision and philosophy for the school, develop its policies and other documentation, and appoint the principal and staff. It also provides input to the Ministry on the design of the school and its buildings.

The EBoT will govern the school through to the first board election, which is held about six months after the school becomes operational.



New Zealand Government