Education Advisory Board

Posted on:

The purpose of the Education Advisory Board is to guide education renewal in greater Christchurch.

Renewal is designed to develop greater Christchurch as a leading education community positioned to set new standards of excellence in teaching, learning and research. The extent of damage and population movement following the earthquakes along with the required investment to revitalise the network offers an opportunity for innovation which will, extend the options available for learners and lift achievement.

To support this, three advisory bodies are being established to engage local leaders and experts to drive key aspects of the renewal work and ensure strong regional, Māori and Pasifika influence. The Education Advisory Board brings together representatives from education and community organisations, all of whom have a high level of expertise and understanding of the needs of priority learners and different communities in greater Christchurch.

  • Graeme Daniel, Principal, Allenvale Special School
  • Tony Deavoll, Chairman, Shirley Boys High School board of trustees
  • Bernard Duncan, member of St. Bede’s College board of trustees
  • Ruth Jones, Chair, Workbridge, and member of CERA Community Forum
  • Patrick O’Connor, Director, PEETO, the multi-cultural learning centre
  • Jocelyn Wright, Early Years professional development facilitator, CORE Education
  • Trevor Beaton, ex-Principal, Cobham Intermediate School
  • Simon Leese, Headmaster, Christ’s College
  • Graeme McNally, Chair, Tai Poutini Polytechnic
  • Mike Nolan, Manager, Catholic Education Office (Christchurch)
  • Lynne Harata Te Aika, Te Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga & Educationalist (Waitaha representative)
  • Elizabeth Brown, Te Taumutu Rūnanga & Educationalist (Waitaha representative)
  • Pasifika representation to be appointed.

Additional members may be appointed in the coming weeks.

Terms of reference:

The Board will provide expert advice to the Minister of Education, the Secretary for Education and the Ministry of Education on the renewal programme.

In doing this, it will:

  • Represent communities’ interests and ensure a strong local influence throughout the renewal process
  • Bring the perspectives of early childhood services, schools, tertiary providers, the business sector and the wider community
  • Identify gaps in the current system and opportunities for innovation and intervention
  • Encourage the development of collaboration and partnerships across the education sector to promote achievement for all learners
  • Work with the Waitaha Advisory Board and the Pasifika Advisory Board to represent and promote the identities, languages and cultures of Māori and Pasifika learners and their communities
  • Complement the work of a dedicated Ministry taskforce which is being established to drive the renewal programme
  • Receive information and advise on the Ministry’s future programmes of work

Where appropriate, the Board may discuss individual schools and/or clusters, but recommendations will focus on the broader challenges in greater Christchurch. It is not the role of the Board to provide advice on decisions about individual schools in the network.

Comments are closed.