Posted on: No Comments

There are 12 education communities in the consolidate category, each of which contains up to half a dozen schools.

Some rationalisation will be needed within these learning community clusters to address the impacts of land and building damage, and people movement.

There will be a wide range of approaches to consider but this will provide opportunities to achieve economies of scale by progressing work across the cluster, and consider options for shared facilities.

Cluster support groups will be established to lead community engagement.

The Ministry of Education will support these groups in providing information to their communities and gathering feedback to identify the preferred way forward.

Boards will formally consult with their communities where closures or mergers are indicated.

Check out the engagement schedule for further details.

Secondary, state integrated and independent schools located within these learning community clusters will be involved in discussions around the future shape of provision within their education communities.

A separate discussion will however also be held with all secondary schools around future provision of secondary education.

Inclusive education, enhanced Māori immersion, and technology are reflected as layers of provision that run across all clusters across the entire network.

Comments are closed.